pineapple salsa

Pineapple salsa, the staple to my summer meals. My most favorite pair for this salsa is hawaiian chicken tacos, which I will add up here as soon as the snow melts off of our grill. However, some other options are.. to top a piece of chicken or fish, accompany any mexican meals or simply be eaten with tortilla chips. This salsa is alllll about the fresh ingredients, no short-cuts! I tried making it with canned pineapple once and never again. A fresh pineapple really brings life to this salsa. Also I realize not everyone is crazy about onions… but even some of my non-onion loving friends enjoy this app. If you’re not a huge fan use a small onion, just enough to add a little color. I decided to take some pictures during the cooking process that could help any visual learners out there. Try it out and let me know what you think!

Pineapple Salsa

Ingredients:

  • A whole pineapple
  • Small or medium red onion
  • Serrano pepper (they are a small pepper, very bright green in color) or jalapeno pepper, if you’re grocery store doesn’t carry serrano
  • Bunch of cilantro
  • 1 Lime

Directions:

  1. Cut the skin of the pineapple off, and cut around the core in the center. Cut pineapple into smaller slices then again to make a bite-sized rectangular shape.
  2. Chop red onion into very small pieces. Add onions to pineapple bites little by little then stir to find the right amount for you. Remember after the salsa is finished and refrigerates, the flavors will come together and onion won’t be as noticeable. TIP: If you have a food processor, you can use it to chop the onion but make sure pulse on low enough to chop. If you over pulse the onion it will become mush and you want to crunch in the onion. The same can be done in the follow steps with the pepper and cilantro however, I would add them to the food processor at separate times.
  3. Do the same with the pepper. I would take the seeds out before chopping, you can always add some later for more heat.. but you can’t take them out if it turns out to be too spicy! WARNING: The oils in serrano peppers are hot, I would recommend using a glove while cutting these. Or you could end up making the same mistake I have and having burning hot hands, touch your face or eyeballs and feel like your hands and face are falling off! :-0 Not fun. If you don’t use gloves, wash you hands with soap and water right after.
  4. Stir the chopped pepper into the pineapple salsa.
  5. Next you will have to take the leaves off of the cilantro, wash and dry on a paper towel. After the cilantro is dry, chop it up. I’m attaching a picture of cilantro for thoses don’t know what to look for in the store.
  6. After mixing the cilantro into the salsa, half a lime and squeeze the juice in the salsa. A whole lime can be used but I would wait and taste it before adding the juice of the whole lime, you may find that half is just right!
  7. Refrigerate for a few hours, I’d say about 2-4. This leaves enough time for the flavors to merry and the salsa to come together. After this you could add some of the pepper seeds if you wish, maybe some crushed red pepper flakes or a little salt/pepper to taste. Personally, I think it’s delis without but everyone is different.
3 Comments Add yours

  1. Amanda Cox says:

    Katie!
    This blog is a great idea! I’m not the best cook (don’t do it very often) but I’ve been trying to more lately. It’s difficult since I only can ever think to make things I’ve seen my momma make and most of her meals are more meat eater friendly. Hope I see some vegetarian dinner options in the future ;]! This salsa looks and sounds goooood though! Might have to try it. Good luck with the bloggin! Hope to see ya soon!

  2. culinaryFLO says:

    thanks weez! ill defiantly get some veggie meals up here for ya!!

  3. amandapolen says:

    I LOVE THIS STUFF! I loved when you use to bring it into studio. Now I can steal this recipe from you :)

Leave a Reply

